A Summer Special

Jelly on a walk…

I start the post off with Jelly, meet Jelly– she’s kind of a big deal. We’re currently dog-sitting for a good friend of ours, and since the repairmen chose this morning to replace our kitchen window, I made the push for  Kyle to take her to the office.  However, I volunteered to take her on a walk in Capisic Park before I brought her inside to the office.
I seriously thought that was the best decision ever. Who knew that taking a dog on a twenty minute walk was THAT therapeutic? I guess I didn’t realize it, but with the weather so amazing today, and with her being so adorable, the mood was catching. We met many other dogs, and took many BM’s, well she did– I didn’t. However, words cannot describe the inner peace I felt this morning on that path with Jelly. I rarely feel that much inner peace anymore, I guess it’s the stress of the job and the hours.

A lot has been happening lately, recently I went to a Sea Dogs game, and had an awesome day off spending it with the one I love. We ended up leaving around the 7th inning, and then headed to Willard Beach in South Portland (or So Po, as I have lovingly nicknamed it).  We eventually headed back home and went across the street to the park to feed ducks, while I got chased by exuberant squirrels and greedy seagulls.  It was a great day, and Tuesday I ended up on the Eastern Prom, and spent time sitting in the sand listening to the waves and reading a book. It was relaxing, and I must admit that I absolutely adore living next to an ocean.

It’s summer, and summer is underway– which means it’s becoming berry season. As someone who spent two summers working with farmer’s markets and local produce, I am STOKED– especially since the local produce is coming in! ❤ I recently (okay, on Tuesday)  got my hands on some of the very beginning of the local strawberry crop here in Maine.

So sweet, and gone in two days.

It was very exciting… really; so exciting that I’m blogging about the joy of these tasty strawberries.  I’m starting to feel summer rolling in, and I want in on it as soon as possible.  Summer thunderstorms, local produce, baseball games, hikes, and spending time at the beach, attending concerts– and maybe even camping and LOTS of traveling.  So many possibilities and musings going on all at once. SO EXCITING! Plus summer guests and dinners.

Ah, cannot wait.

I want to go to the seaside…

On top of it all, I found a fantastic no egg, no cook vanilla ice-cream recipe (that I could make into other flavors as well).

No-Cook Vanilla ice-cream

  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 2 cups half-and-half cream
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine the heavy cream and the half and half. Gradually whisk in the sugar until blended.
  2. Whisk in the vanilla. Refrigerate, covered, until very cold, at least 3 hours or as long as 3 days.
  3. Whisk the mixture to blend and pour into the canister of an ice cream maker. Freeze according to the manufacturer’s directions. Eat at once or transfer to a covered container and freeze up to 8 hours.

Mmm… Homemade ice-cream!

Ah well, ciao.

-Kaiulani

Leave a Reply

