Why I should do my Research where Politics and the Mass Media are Concerned.

I vote, and I also usually vote Democratic, or on a third party ticket but usually I am more of a Democrat, socially at least. That being said, I get a lot of emails for programs that I helped through when working on the local Democratic campaign back last semester. Organizations such as MoveOn.org, and CREDO which  work toward socially democratic support. Lately however they have been heavily bashing the Republican party, lately though, a lot of the legislation that the Republican party has been trying to pass to me is a little backwards, and wrong (this is of course my opinion).  

I guess I should clarify here. I don’t normally ever vote Republican. In fact most of the time, what that party passes (on the extreme end) is a little too crazy for me and my socially liberal conscious. To me, the party has been trying to force us back a couple of decades, and that’s their position.

I don’t agree with their ideas and franklyI tend to  support the Democratic party, but like the Republican Party— they have their wackos. (The Republicans have the Tea Party, and the Democrats have their form of oddballs in the mix as well.)

However, I have decided that at least now in my life, I will only be supporting organizations such as MoveOn.org and CREDO, after I hear the facts from RELIABLE sources, not to say organizations such as those aren’t reliable, I just want to get all of my facts straight before I decide to support an issue. You would do that with voting anyways. (It’s a no brainer).

Recently they sent out a email titled the “Top 10 Shocking Attacks from the GOP’s War on Women”, naturally this caught my eye. However when I went down the list and read most of them, instead of shocking me with the parties war on women, I was shocked to read how there were no ACTUAL government based resources to these claims… and frankly that is what I was looking for. I would also like to clarify, that these “warnings” are yes shocking, and some of them are based on fact— such as the wording for the abortion bill— and sadly the Headstart/preschool programs have been cut. My mom would be a whole world better, if our state hadn’t cut programs such as these and children would be admittedly better off (being a wanabe educator, I wish we still had them). Actually my mother would still have a solid job if our state hadn’t cut programs such as these.

With other articles I have seen such items, for example the few Republicans who supported getting rid of organizations such as the National Endowment for the Art, and PBS. I grew up on PBS, and honestly I raised myself. My mother would turn on PBS while my father slept when I was younger and I thank God for these programs. Children can learn, and other funding is EDUCATIONAL. Did you know I read somewhere that we are second lowest in Education in the world? This terifies me, honestly. Taking away Arts, Theater, and Educational resources free to the public will ultimately screw us over. Do you want that? I didn’t think so. So please support your arts, everyday.

Frankly a lot of this stuff, has been happening over the years and a good part of this, is not new news. Headstart has been losing funding since the late 90’s, at least in this state. My mother worked as a teacher for the program. They cut the funding in Bartholomew County awhile back. Number one refers to a bill just stating who can cover abortions, and what insurances won’t cover it. For more on this bill refer to this website: http://www.govtrack.us/congress/bill.xpd?bill=h112-3. The other bills on here, I hate to say of it, have  been happening lately. A lot of preschools that are state funded have lost funding like every other educational system. I don’t agree with what is being done, but I want to inform you this isn’t new information. This is why you all should vote, and take an active discussion in politics if you don’t want it to happen.

Lately I have been thinking about this and a lot of problems these organizations without the proper research have been causing me— and  upon further thought, I have just decided to do my research before I make a stance on a subject.

** I’m not apologizig for initial thoughts on what this article used to be.  It was me trying to wade through a lot of issues I have with journalism in general lately, and the writing that’s going on especially with Politics. A lot of my former rant was being bitter with the campaign I worked with last semester. I do apologize for that, it was a good run, and I’m proud of everyone who came out to support the local elections. I also am proud of those who show up to their local Democrat meetings. Here on campus, and in your community.

**I also agree with changing , and being progressive and the fact that so many people don’t want that terrifies and saddens me.

Lesson learned: Do your research thoroughly, you never know who you may piss off… and for the record I’m not a right-winged moron. /sigh. 

Also everyone has a right to their freedom of speech. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

